Thinking of
Self-Catering ?
Wheal Trenwith

Directions
to The Old
Count House


The Old Count House, St Ives, CornwallThe Old Count House is situated in a small, quiet square, the house enjoys breathtaking views of the town, harbour and bay. You can enjoy all the home comforts in our excellently presented accommodation whilst savouring the charm and character of a traditional Cornish Count House with a fascinating history.

The Old Count House was built from local granite in 1825 and was so named because it was from here that the wages were counted out and paid to the tin miners of Wheal Trenwith.

Our cosy lounge with open fire

Once a month a shareholders meeting was held followed by a dinner, prepared by the staff. The food provided was of the highest quality and the liquor both potent and plentiful.

When times were bad the Count House dinner went some way to cheer the despondent investor and persuade him to persevere in the hope that the price of tin would improve. Sadly the investors were disappointed but the excellent standard of cuisine continues.

Many regard St Ives as the most picturesque resort in Cornwall with its ever changing combination of magnificent coastal views and narrow streets which wind their way between quaint fishermen’s cottages. Throughout the town there are fascinating shops, craft markets, museums and galleries. St Ives has for many years been famous for its artists’ colony and now boasts its own Tate Gallery opened by Prince Charles in 1993. This spectacular building, overlooking Porthmeor Beach, houses paintings, sculpture and pottery by distinguished local artists and will also stage exhibitions of work and art from the Tate’s international collections.

AA ~ 4 Stars Guest Accommodation

 


Web Design & Web Hosting by Cnx Web Solutions
© The Old Count House
Privacy Statement